Monday, July 16, 2012

Slut?

What is society? What are norms? What are rules? What is the code of conduct? How are we supposed to behave? WHAT WILL PEOPLE THINK & SAY?

Sad! but true, that India today walks on the guidelines of the few questions I have stated above. People categorize girls a lot more easily than they might think of doing it to boys. The discrimination has seen hardly few differences since the time we got our independence. We still have those old fashioned ways of thinking. Where a girl who wears hot pants & shorts is not acceptable. No! They don't tell you to follow a dress code because, had they asked you to do so, life would have been much easier. Its the eyes that kill. It is the happenings in the surroundings that kill. It is the people who kill . and, they just not kill. They RAPE, GANG RAPE & MOLEST you before they kill. And sometimes after doing all of that, they don't even kill. they let you live a shitty life, where all you can do is hide your face from your neighbors. Sometimes even change your town.

Yes, we have been advanced. Yes, we have grown. Yes, we have big apartments around us now. Yes, we have all the technology in the world with us now. But, is that what women in our country crave for? Is that what we want to make out of our life? Are we designed to be dolls, which can be played by men, whenever & wherever they want & most importantly in whatever manner. Are we still continuing with the archaic society that we once lived in.

I remember of a friend, who in her language used to make love with her boyfriend. She could not leave her boyfriend because, if she did so he would tell her parents about everything that they shared, which would more or less shatter her & her parents. We being Indians, are taught to think of our parents before ourselves.
Strange! I never get this concept though. How can somebody be considered superior just because they were born of a different gender. Weird! how can they just possess certain rights to insult or molest you or even tease.

Weird isn't it? If a girl wears a short skirt, or hangs out with her male friends, does that make her a slut or a bitch! I mean, why? Does our society not recognize something called friendship! Is there no scope to be friends here? Why are our worlds just rotating around people who we shouldn't even give a shit! 

I mean this is unfair. I feel so bad! It's like life is being mean to us, just because we are women! Weren't women accustomed to be mothers, daughter & sisters. But, now all we seem to be are sluts, prostitutes & whores.

I still crave for an India, where we are respected. Treated the way we should have. And, where disrespecting women is a serious criminal office & not something that even our police officers do!

I will wait for that India.

That day, when the clock strikes 12, India will rise. To independence. The REAL independence.

No comments:

Post a Comment